Harry B. Neustein Memorial Award

The Neustein Award was established in memory of Dr. Harry B. Neustein, pathologist and electron microscopist at Los Angeles Children’s Hospital. Originally awarded to recognize meritorious work involving electron microscopy in the study of disorders of children, the criteria have been broadened to include in addition to ultrastructure, the application of new or novel technology to the study of pediatric disease or developmental biology. The award is given to the principal author of a platform or poster presentation at the spring and/or fall meeting of the Society. The abstract subcommittee nominates meritorious papers for consideration; no application is necessary. 

The winner will receive an illuminated certificate, $500 cash award, and recognition in the Society Newsletter.

Photograph of Harry B. Neustein

Dr. Harry Neustein

Previous Winners:

1990: Daphne E. deMello, MD, Cardinal Glennon Children’s Hospital, St. Louis, MO. Subcellular immuno-gold localization of SP-A in lungs of infants dying from respiratory distress syndrome.

1992: Catherine Pegors, MD. Morphology of the middle and inner ear in a murine model of mucopolysaccharidase type VII.

1993: Gary Mierau, PhD, Denver Children's Hospital, Denver. CO. Intranuclear Birbeck granules in Langerhans cell histiocytosis.

1996, Spring: Joe C. Rutledge, MD, Children's Orthopedic Hospital and Medical Center. Ultrastructural changes after bone marrow transplantation for Hurler’s disease.

1997. Spring: J Ackerman, MD, University of South Florida College of Medicine, Tampa, FL. I-Cell Disease - A Pathologic and Electron Microscopic Study of 5 Cases.

1999, SPring: Elizabeth Perlman, MD, Johns Hopkins, Baltimore, MD. Genetic analysis of clear cell sarcoma of kidney (CCSK) by comparative genomic hybridization (CGH).

2000. Spring: P. Argani, Johns Hopkins Medical Inst, Baltimore, MD. Reassessment of infantile fibrosarcoma and related lesions by RT-PCR for the ETV6/NTRK3 fusion transcript.

2000, Spring: John M. Hicks, Texas Children's Hospital, Houston, TX. Role of ICAM-1deficiency in modulation of lupus-like glomerulopathy: A histopathologic and ultrastructural study.

2000, Fall: Pam Groen and David Witte, Children's Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, OH. Quantitative EBV assay using the LightCycler instrument to monitor transplant patients at risk for PTLD.

2001, Spring: Sara O. Vargas, MD, Boston Children's Hospital, Boston, MA. Optical “biopsy” of the pediatric gastrointestinal tract using optical coherence tomography.

2001, Fall: Allen Yeoh, MD, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, Memphis, TN. Molecular fingerprinting for subclassification in childhood acute lymphoblastic leukemia using the Affymetrix gene-chip.

2002, Spring: Kenichi Harada and Anirban Maitra, UT Southwestern, Dallas, TX. Promoter methylation of CASPASE-I and RASSF1A is a common event in solid tumors of children.

2002, Fall: Philip J Katzman, MD, University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, NY. Cardiac registry screening for DiGeorge critical region deletion using loss of heterozygosity (LOH) analysis.

2003, Spring: Chiler Hasan, MS, Children's Memorial Hospital, Northwestern University, Chicago, IL. Differences in Genetic Expression Between Hyperplastic Perilobar Nephrogenic Rest (HPLNR) and Wilms Tumor (WT).

2004, Spring: Rocio Pena-Alonso MD, Hospital Infantil de Mexico Federico Gomez and Hospital General de Mexico, Mexico, D.F. Analysis of the sex determining region of chromosome-Y (SRY) by PCR and FISH in true hermaphrodites.

2005, Spring: Rene L. Galindo, MD, Genetic dissection of alveolar rhabdomyosarcoma pathogenesis in Drosophila melanogaster.

2005, Fall: Nancy Galvin, PhD, St Louis University, St. Louis, MO. Early onset of lysosomal storage disease in a murine model of mucopolysaccharidosis type VII: Undegraded substrate accumulates in many tissues in the fetus and very young Mps VII mouse.

2006, Spring: Nina Tatevian, MD, PhD, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's Hospital, Houston, TX. Molecular heterogeneity in a poorly differentiated neuroblastoma with pleomorphic giant cells-a Bac array CGH analysis.

2006, Fall: Monique E. DePaepe, MD, Brown Medical School, Women and Infants Hospital, Providence, RI. Microarray analysis of ventilated preterm lungs identifies differential expression of angiogenesis-related genes.

2007, Spring: Amanda Murphy, MD, Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, ON. Variable expression of WT1 in desmoplastic small round cell tumour.

2007, Fall: Gino R. Somers, MD, University of Toronto, Toronto, ON. Detailed expression profiling of pediatric undifferentiated sarcomas: Evidence for upregulation of the insulin-like growth factor signaling pathway.

2008, Spring: Scott D. Boyd, MD, Stanford University, Stanford, CA. Characterization of Pre-B cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia micro RNA libraries using high-throughput pyrosequencing and specimen barcoding.

2008, Fall: Bahig Shehata, MD, Children's Healthcare of Atlanta, Atlanta, GA. Ewing sarcoma with 7;22 translocation-Is it occurring in a younger age group with predilection for extraskeletal location? A study of 35 cases with emphasis on molecular analysis.

2009, Spring: C.A. French, MD, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, MA. Targeting the Epigenome in NUT Midline Carcinoma.

2010, Spring: Bahig Shehata, MD, Children's Healthcare/Egleston, Atlanta, Georgia. Identification of candidate genes for histiocytoid cardiomyopathy using whole genome analysis: Analyzing material from the HC Registry.

2010, Fall: Kyle C Kurek, Children's Hospital Boston, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA. Loss of function mutations in PTPN11 is responsible for the hereditary bone tumor syndrome, metachondromatosis.

2010, Fall: Runner-up: Garry W. Mierau, The Children's Hospital, Aurora, CO. Comparative evaluation of specimen collection methods for ultrastructural diagnosis of primary ciliary dyskinesia syndrome.

2011, Spring: Bonnie Cole, MD, University of Washington, Seattle, WA. 19q13.4 loss of heterozygosity and occult androgenic/biparental mosaicism in sporadic hepatic mesenchymal hamartoma.

2011, Fall: Larissa V. Furtado, MD, University of Utah and ARUP Labs, Salt Lake City, UT. Development of a DNA Microsatellite Genotyping Test for Aneuploidy Detection in Paraffin Embedded Tissue from Products of Conception.

2012, Spring: Craig Midgen and DL Kearney, Texas Children's Hospital and Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX. Ventricular noncompaction with and without associated cardiac abnormalities: A pathology series of 30 cases.

2012, Fall: Benjamin Wilkins, et al, Children's Hospital Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA. Zebrafish cirhin morphants have p53-mediated developmental biliary defects, and are a model for North American Indian Childhood Cirrhosis.

2013, Spring: Csaba Galambos, MD, PhD, Children's Hospital Pittsburgh. In utero embryonic intracardiac injection under biomicroscopy guidance: a cutting edge technology to study embryonic lung development in vivo.

2013, Fall: Jason Wang, MD, Diagnostic yield of targeted panels of seizure genes.